

Explanatory Note – Boundary Plans

This document provides additional detail regarding boundary plans for some councils.

Community Boards

Some community boards cover the same area as wards. In these cases, no separate boundary plans exist for these community board. These are listed below.

Where a community board is subdivided, a boundary plan will exist.

Community boards that mirror ward boundaries:

Lower Hutt City Council:

 Wainuiomata Community Board, comprising the area of the Wainuiomata Ward (SO Plan 35984)

Rangitikei District Council:

 Taihape Community Board, comprising the area of the Northern General Ward (Plan LG-038-2019-W-2)

Queenstown-Lakes District Council:

 Wānaka-Upper Clutha Community Board, comprising the area of the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward (Plan LG-070-2021-W-4)

Southland District Council:

- Oreti Community Board, comprising the area of the Oreti Ward (Plan LG-073-2019-W-2)
- Waihopai Toetoe Community Board, comprising the area of the Waihopai Toetoe Ward (Plan LG-073-2019-W-3)

 Stewart Island/Rakiura Community Board, comprising the area of the Stewart Island/Rakiura Ward (SO Plan 11492)

<u>Ōtorohanga District Council:</u>

 Ōtorohanga Community Board, comprising the area of the Ōtorohanga General Ward (SO Plan 374679)

Christchurch City Council:

- Waihoro Spreydon-Cashmere-Heathcote Community Board, comprising the area of the Spreydon Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-12), Cashmere Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-14) and Heathcote Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-16)
- Waimāero Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood Community Board, comprising the area of the Fendalton Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-5), Waimairi Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-3) and Harewood Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-2).
- Waipapa Papanui-Innes-Central Community Board, comprising the area of the Papanui Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-4), Innes Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-6) and Central Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-13)
- Waipuna Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board, comprising the area of the Hornby Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-9), Halswell Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-10) and Riccarton Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-11)
- Waitai Coastal-Burwood-Linwood Community Board, comprising the area of the Coastal Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-8), Burwood Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-7), and Linwood Ward (Plan LG-060-2021-W-15)

Central Otago District Council

- Cromwell Community Board, comprising the area of the Cromwell Ward (Plan)
- Maniototo Community Board, comprising the area of the Maniototo Ward (Plan)
- Teviot Valley Community Board, comprising the area of the Teviot Valley Ward (Plan)
- Vincent Community Board, comprising the area of the Vincent Ward, being an amalgamation of the Earnscleugh-Manuherikia Ward (SO Plan 24246) and the Alexandra Ward (SO Plan 386670)

Māori Wards

Where a Māori ward is district wide and comprises the same area delineated on a district or city plan, a separate boundary plan for the Māori Ward may not exist.

District Wide Māori Wards:

Stratford District Council

 Stratford Māori Ward comprising the area of the Stratford District plan (Plan LG-034-2021-W-1)

Palmerston North City Council

 Te Pūao Māori Ward comprising the area of the Palmerston North City plan (Plan LG-040-2013-TA-1)

Tararua District Council

 Tamaki nui-a-Rua Māori Ward comprising the area of the Tararua District plan (SO Plan 37401)

Taupo District Council

 Te Papamārearea Māori Ward, comprising the area of the Taupo District plan (Plan LG-021-2019-W-1)

<u>Ötorohanga District Council</u>

 Rangiātea Māori Ward, comprising the area of the Ōtorohanga District plan (Plan LG-018-2013-W-1)

Masterton District Council

 Whakaoriori Māori Ward, comprising the area of the Masterton District plan (Plan LG-048-2013-W-1)

Miscellaneous

Masterton District Council:

 A boundary plan has not been drawn for Masterton District Council's Whakaoriori General Ward as it is comprising the area of the Masterton District plan (Plan LG-048-2013-W-1)

Central Otago District Council:

 A boundary plan has not been drawn for the Vincent Ward in Central Otago District Council, being an amalgamation of the Earnscleugh-Manuherikia Ward (SO Plan 24246) and the Alexandra Ward (SO Plan 386670)

Westland District Council:

 A separate boundary plan has not been drawn for the Westland District Council's Southern Ward, which is comprising the area delineated in the Westland District plan (Plan LG-057-2019-W-1)

Western Bay of Plenty District Council

- Te Puke Community (SO Plan 58076) states 'superseded, see plan LG-022-2013-W-4'. This note refers to changes in ward boundaries. SO Plan 58076 still accurately describes the boundary of the Te Puke community.
- Waihī Beach Community (SO Plan 58078) states 'superseded, see plan LG-022-2013-W-2'. This note refers to changes in ward boundaries. SO Plan 58078 still accurately describes the boundary of the Waihī Beach community.

Chatham Islands:

Boundary plans have not been drawn for The Chatham Islands Territory.
The district comprises the area described in <u>section 5</u> of the Chatham Islands Council Act 1995.

