Home » Local government reorganisation Current applications

West Coast implementation of final reorganisation proposal


Second Order in Council giving effect to reorganisation scheme

Local Government Reorganisation Scheme (West Coast Region) Order 2019 (NZ Gazette website)

Reorganisation scheme

West Coast Transition Board

In accordance with the final reorganisation proposal which set out the composition of the required West Coast Transition Board, the board comprised:

  • Rex Williams (independent chairperson)
  • Andrew Robb, Chairperson West Coast Regional Council
  • Stuart Challenger, West Coast Regional Council
  • Garry Howard, Mayor Buller District
  • Graeme Neylon, Buller District Council
  • Tony Kokshoorn, Mayor Grey District
  • Anton Becker, Grey District Council
  • Bruce Smith, Mayor Westland District
  • Latham Martin, Westland District Council
  • Francois Tumahai, Te Rūnanga o Ngati Waewae
  • Tim Rochford, Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio

The board met on three occasions (17 December 2018, 13 February 2019, 21 March 2019) to consider and agree the contents of the required reorganisation scheme and a parallel deed of agreement between the parties.

First Order in Council giving effect to final proposal:

Local Government Reorganisation (West Coast Region) Final Proposal Order 2018 (NZ Gazette website)